Malawi Independent

The Truth Like Nobody's Business, Reporting Without Fear Or Favour

Four MPs Unopposed In Ntcheu DPP Primaries

DPP officials sharing notes

Jubilant delegates after Mutharika was declared President for DPP in 2019 elections

Four incumbent Members of Parliament for the governing Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) in Ntcheu district Thursday went unopposed during the party’s primary elections.

This means they will represent the party during 21 May 2019 tripartite elections.

The four are Mwai Kamuyambeni (Ntcheu West), Everton Chimulirenji (Ntcheu North East), Assan Lipande (Ntcheu North) and Francis Mkungula (Ntcheu Bwanje North) respectively.

Speaking in an interview, DPP Eastern Region Director of Women, Eluby Kandeu, said people in the district should continue supporting the party and vote for its candidates as was the case in the previous election.

“In the 2014 tripartite elections, the party scooped all the seven seats in the district. We believe history will repeat itself come 21 May 2019,” Kandeu said.

On his part, Ntcheu West legislator, Mwai Kamuyambeni said he will focus on youth empowerment besides other development initiatives in the area.

Kamuyambeni who is also the party’s Director of Operations, further said issue based campaign is the way.

However, two other incumbent lawmakers Godwin Kanjere of Bwanje South and Damison Chimalira of Ntcheu South were facing stiff competition from aspiring candidates in their constituencies.

In Ntcheu Central Constituency, there were new faces battling it out to represent the ruling party in 2019 polls.

Apart from Ntcheu, on Thursday DPP also conducted primary elections in constituencies and wards in Zomba rural and urban.

%d bloggers like this: