Mw Pres. Mutharika Not In Attendance Of 37th SADC Summit:’Reforms At Work’

APM not attending AU summit

Malawi  President Prof.Arthur Peter Mutharika is not in attendance of the 37th Ordinary Southern African Development Community-SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government which opened today, 19th August, 2017.Malawi Independent has learnt.

It is believed that the move by Mutharika not to attend the SADC  summit is part of the  economic reforms which his administration  is implementing to recover the country’s economy from the worst  financial maladministration of all times  in the history of Malawi, popularly known as  cash gate scandal ,which occurred during the era of fugitive Joyce Banda, forcing the donor community to withdraw direct budgetary support to Malawi.

Since 2014, Mutharika has cancelled a number of foreign trip as part of austerity measures and reforms which he introduced as soon as he took power.

So far, the Malawi economy has improved and its inflation has  moved from 24% in 2014 to 10.2% in July 2017 and Mutharika said he is hoping that by December 2017, Malawi will have a single digit inflation. A clear sign that his administration is doing much to grow its economy and improve the well being of Malawians.

The summit is taking place in Pretoria, South Africa.Other Heads of government who have already  arrived at the Summit include Zimbabwe’s Robert Mugabe, Swaziland’s King Mswati III, Democratic Republic of Congo Joseph Kabila, Namibia’s Hage Geingob and Tanzania’s President John Magufuli.

The theme of the summit is “Partnering with the private sector in developing industry and regional value-chains”.

During the Summit South Africa will assume the role of Chair of the SADC taking over from the Kingdom of Swaziland.

The President of the Republic of Tanzania John Magufuli and the Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Lesotho Dr Thomas Thabane are expected to give their maiden speeches during the Summit while the Presidents of the Republic of Angola José Eduardo dos Santos and Botswana Lt. Gen. Dr. Seretse Khama Ian Khama are expected to give their farewell speeches.

The main objectives of SADC are to achieve economic development, peace and security, and growth, alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa, and support the socially disadvantaged through Regional Integration.

Currently SADC has a membership of 15 Member States, namely; Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.